This topic contains 8 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by  em 1 week, 2 days ago.

• Author

scats
    Participant

Had a bad couple of days, work has been crazy both physically and mentally (I’m a vet nurse)

I did too much especially today and although I got home fine I genuinely can’t remember anything about the journey back.

This has worried me, I remember getting in the car and getting out of car at the end but that’s it.

Can anyone with fibromyalgia shed some light on this please??!

cam
    Participant

I think problems with memory are quite common in fibromyalgia. My memory has gone shocking- I used to be able to remember everything but my short term memory is appalling now. I can still remember things from a long time ago but I sometimes simply cannot remember what I did two days ago. I’ll also ask the same person the same question several times and not remember I’ve asked them.
    I did mention it to my consultant but he didn’t seem too bothered.

It’s made my job hard at times, I have to write everything down and have it somewhere I will see it.

oldguy
    Participant

Nicknamed ‘fibro fog’, I think sometimes you are just so focused on using all your energy to get the next task done, there isn’t enough energy left to remember what wasn’t ‘important’ at the time, if that makes sense. It’s a bit of an auto pilot thing at times and you usually don’t realise you’ve forgotten until you try to think about it.

betty
    Participant

You don’t need fibromyalgia for this. It happened to me and my OH when we had stressful days. You get home and you’ve no idea how you got there, you just drive on autopilot. It’s a well known phenomenon:

https://www.psychologytoday.com/us/blog/mental-mishaps/201404/the-dangers-going-autopilot

sar
    Participant

I have terrible problems with memory loss – have to write everything down, but can then loose my list! I cant remember words, names, what I am doing next etc. I hate it, it makes me feel so old and stupid.